In 1861 Ten Senators Were Expelled From Congress for Supporting Insurrection and Conspiracy

by on January 10, 2022 · 3 comments

in History

A Note From Our History

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

OB Toby January 11, 2022 at 3:15 pm

A timely history lesson.


Jeoffry Gordon January 13, 2022 at 3:30 am

Year Name Chamber Party State Reason Notes
1797 William Blount Senate Democratic-Republican Tennessee Expelled for treason and conspiracy to incite a rebellion of Creek and Cherokee to aid the British in conquering the Spanish territory of West Florida.
1861 James M. Mason Senate Democratic Virginia Expelled for supporting the Confederate rebellion in 1861 and 1862.
1861 Robert M. T. Hunter Senate Democratic Virginia
1861 Thomas L. Clingman Senate Democratic North Carolina
1861 Thomas Bragg Senate Democratic North Carolina
1861 James Chesnut, Jr. Senate Democratic South Carolina
1861 Alfred O. P. Nicholson Senate Democratic Tennessee
1861 William K. Sebastian Senate Democratic Arkansas Posthumously reversed.
1861 Charles B. Mitchel Senate Democratic Arkansas
1861 John Hemphill Senate Democratic Texas
1861 Louis Wigfall Senate Democratic Texas
1861 John C. Breckinridge Senate Democratic Kentucky Former Vice President and 1860 presidential candidate.
1862 Trusten Polk Senate Democratic Missouri
1862 Waldo P. Johnson Senate Democratic Missouri
1862 Jesse D. Bright Senate Democratic Indiana


Frank Gormlie January 13, 2022 at 6:51 am

Thanks Jeoffry for filling in the historic gaps.


Leave a Comment

Older Article:

Newer Article: